ER Wait Time | Door To Provider: 35 minutes | If this is a life-threatening emergency, call 911.


Sherman Oaks Hospital in the top 5% in the Nation for Patient Safety

Sherman Oaks Hospital announced today that it is a recipient of the Healthgrades 2019 Patient Safety Excellence AwardTM. This distinction places Sherman Oaks Hospital among the top 5% of all short-term acute care hospitals reporting patient safety data as evaluated by Healthgrades, the leading online resource for information about physicians and hospitals.

Sherman Oaks Hospital received Healthgrades Critical Care Excellence AwardTM (2017-2019) and Pulmonary Care Excellence AwardTM Co( 2016-2019). These achievements are part of the findings released by Healthgrades and are featured in their 2019 Report to the Nation. The report demonstrates how clinical performance continues to differ dramatically between hospitals regionally and nationally.*

Sherman Oaks Hospital is a member of Prime Healthcare, one of the nation’s largest hospital systems with 45 hospitals in 14 states. Prime Healthcare has more Patient Safety Excellence Award recipients for four consecutive years (2016-2019) than any other health system in the country.

“We are proud to recognize the recipients of the 2019 Healthgrades Patient Safety Excellence Award, which shines a spotlight on the hospitals that are preventing the occurrence of serious, potentially avoidable complications, for patients during their hospital stay,” said Brad Bowman, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Healthgrades. “We applaud these hospitals and their commitment to providing the best possible care for every patient.”

During the study period (2015 to 2017), Healthgrades 2019 Patient Safety Excellence Award recipient hospitals demonstrated excellent performance in safety provided for patients in the Medicare population, as measured by objective outcomes (risk-adjusted patient safety indicator rates) for 14 patient safety indicators defined by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

“Quality patient care is at the center of all that we do, so it is especially meaningful when we are recognized by national organizations like Healthgrades for excellence,” said Sunny Bhatia, MD, Coroporate Chief Medical Officer, Prime Healthcare, Division I and Chief Medical Officer, Sherman Oaks Hospital and Encino Hospital Medical Center. “I congratulate and thank the physicians, nurses and staff at Sherman Oaks Hospital for their outstanding teamwork and commitment to quality, patient safety, and clinical excellence.”

Healthgrades found that patients treated in hospitals receiving the Patient Safety Excellence Award were, as compared to patients at non-recipient hospitals, on average*:

  • 55.9% less likely to experience an accidental cut, puncture, perforation or hemorrhage during medical care.
  • 50.9% less likely to experience a collapsed lung due to a procedure or surgery in or around the chest.
  • 64.4% less likely to experience pressure sores or bed sores acquired in the hospital.
  • 57% less likely to experience catheter-related bloodstream infections acquired at the hospital.

In addition, if all hospitals in the country performed at the level of award recipients for each of the 14 Patient Safety Indicators, 127,667 patient safety events could have been avoided. In addition to performing in the top 5% of all hospitals nationwide in Critical and Pulmonary Care, Sherman Oaks Hospital was the recipient of 10 additional 5-Star recognitions across various procedures, treatments and specialties, including:

  • Treatment of Heart Failure for 6 years in a row (2014-2019)
  • Hip Fracture Treatment for 6 years in a row (2014-2019)
  • Treatment of Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease 4 years in a row (2016-2019)
  • Treatment of Pneumonia for 6 years in a row (2014-2019)
  • Treatment for Esophageal/Stomach Surgeries for 3 years in a row (2017-2019)
  • Treatment of GI Bleed for 6 years in a row (2014-2019)
  • Treatment of Sepsis for 6 Years in a Row (2014-2019)
  • Treatment of Respiratory Failure for 6 years in a row (2014-2019)
  • Treatment of Bowel Obstruction for 2 years in a row (2018-2019)
  • Appendectomy (2018)

View Healthgrades hospital quality methodologies.

*Statistics are calculated from Healthgrades Patient Safety Ratings and Excellence Award methodology which is based primarily on AHRQ technical specifications (Version 5e and 2018) to MedPAR data for years 2015 through 2017 and represent 3-year estimates for Medicare patients only.